Tonka Gin made in Germany


Follow us on Facebook and Instagram. #tonkagin


Contact

Requests by importers, retailers and gastronomy

We are happy to see your interest in our Tonka Gin. Please ask us directly, how, or rather, where you can obtain our Tonka Gin. In addition, gastronomy and retailers may source our gin in almost all well stocked beverage specialist stores in Germany. 


 

 

Daniel Soumikh

 

Tel.:+49172 4532073

E-Mail: ds@tonka-gin.com

 

 

 Serap Hickorkmaz

 

 Tel.: +49160 91610357

E-Mail: sh@tonka-gin.com



 Daniel Soumikh got the idea to refine gin with the flavors of the tonka bean after a venture through Spain. It had been there that he learned how the bean was not only used in the finer kitchen, but that it had also found its way into the bar scene.

From this point forward, Daniel Soumikh worked on implementing his ideas for almost 2 years. With the assistance of a few barkeepers and a competent distillery he was able to conceptualize his ideas and was proud to present the first finished bottles on September 26th 2014.


 

The shape of our bottle is a tribute to the American prohibition, which was ratified on the 16th of January 1919 and stayed implemented until December 5th 1933.

During this time the rectangular, flat shape of the bottle was popular as it allowed smugglers to easily store larger amounts of spirit in smaller spaces. It was especially easy to hide a bottle under one’s car seat.

Tonka Gin with its 47% abv. can be enjoyed as a gin and tonic or as a mixer, as you can explore on the following pages where we have shared several cocktail recipes by renowned barkeepers. Try some and enjoy! 


 

 The Tonka Bean is what gives our TONKA GIN its’ distinct, elegant, and unique taste. Flavors such as sweet vanilla, bitter almond and aromatically spicy hay flowers contribute to the extraordinary experience! To create the perfect harmony between the tonka bean and juniper berries we use a grand total of 23 botanicals in our Tonka Gin.

 


 

Each bottle has a handwritten designation on it which gives information about the batch, its individual bottle number, and when it was bottled down to month and year. 


 We produce our Tonka Gin in a small distillery which lies in between fruit orchards in the vicinity of Hamburg. Everything is done through manual labor, starting with the distilling all the way to bottling, labeling and finally, packaging.


Tonka Gin Tonic 

 

16cl Fever Tree Indian or Schweppes Dry Tonic

5cl Tonka Gin with Ice Cubes

 

Preparation:

Pour Tonka Gin into a longdrink glass with ice cubes and top off with tonic water.

 

Recommendation by Tonka Gin Team

tonka gin

Est. 2014


Folgt uns auf Facebook und Instagram. #tonkagin 


 

 

TONKA GIN

Die Idee, den Gin mit der Tonkabohne zu verfeinern, kam Daniel Soumikh nach einer Reise durch Spanien. Dort erlebte er, dass das Gewürz nicht nur in der Küche verwendet wurde, sondern dort auch ihren Weg in die Barszene erhalten hatte.

Von diesem Zeitpunkt an, arbeitete Daniel Soumikh fast zwei Jahre lang an der Umsetzung seines Tonka Gins. Mit grosser Unterstützung einiger Barkeeper und einer kompetenten Brennerei, konnte er die ersten fertigen Flaschen am 26. September 2014 voller Freude präsentieren.



 

Hommage an die Prohibition der Vereinigten Staaten

Unsere eckige Flaschenform ist eine Hommage an die Prohibition der Vereinigten Staaten, welche am 16. Januar 1919 ratifiziert wurde und bis zum 05. Dezember 1933 Gültigkeit hatte.

Zu dieser Zeit waren die eckigen Flaschen sehr begehrt, da Sie für den Schmuggel verschiedene Vorteile aufwiesen. Durch diese Form konnte man eine größere Menge auf kleineren Raum lagern.

Unter anderem war es auch einfacher, sie unter einem Autositz zu verstecken. TONKA GIN kann mit 47 % vol. ideal als Gin & Tonic oder als Mix genossen werden, wie unsere Rezepte von namenhaften Barkeepern auf den folgenden Seiten zeigen werden.

Probieren und genießen! 

 


 

Die Tonkabohne

verleiht unserem TONKA GIN seinen unverwechselbaren, eleganten und einzigartigen Geschmack. Noten wie süße Vanille, herbe Bittermandel und würzige Heublumen tragen zu diesem besonderen Geschmackserlebnis bei! Um eine perfekte Harmonie zwischen der Tonkabohne und den Wacholderbeeren zu schaffen, werden von uns insgesamt 23 Zutaten für unseren Tonka Gin verwendet.



 

 

Handarbeit

Die per Hand geschriebenen Nummern geben darüber Auskunft, welche Produktionsnummer, Flaschennummer und im welchem Monat/Jahr Ihre Flasche hergestellt wurde.



 

 

Liebe zum Detail

Unseren TONKA GIN stellen wir in einer kleinen Brennerei her. Diese liegt idyllisch inmitten von Obstfeldern, in der Nähe von Hamburg.

Von der Herstellung des Destillates bis hin zur Abfüllung der Flaschen, die Anbringung der Etiketten und des Verpackens unserer Flaschen, wird alles in Handarbeit durchgeführt.